Author Topic: tire question versus PA law  (Read 21811 times)

WVUFAN18

• View Profile
tire question versus PA law
« on: March 13, 2013, 09:56:15 pm »
I am happy to find a forum composed of PA jeep owners.  I am fairly new to the jeep world and have some questions concerning PA law.  My understanding is the fender has to cover the tire tread completely.  I want bigger tires and new wheels.  My question is how much bigger can I go and still be in compliance with the law?  285? 275? Is there anything I can do with wheel offset to give the tire a wider look but still have no rubbing issues and the tire under the fender?  What if I go with 18 inch wheels?  Please help!

WVUFAN18

• View Profile
Re: tire question versus PA law
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2013, 10:50:23 pm »
sorry, guess I should have said that my jeep is a 2011 Rubicon

hillbilly

• adam lewis - appalachian american - B.O.D.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2013, 10:06:17 am »
pa laws says you can only go one tire size bigger and 2 inch extensions on the fender flares. legally the tire is suppose to be completely under the fender. my local 5.0 puts a nickel on the side of the fender and lets it fall, if it hits the tire you get a fine or fix it ticket. but with over 75 % of the vehicles i see out there with no fenders or extra wide tire/rim its all up to johny law.
build it, beat it, break it, fix it, repeat
A member of the church requests to be buried in his jeep because "It ain't never been in a hole it couldn't get out of."
   91 xj 8.5" lift -33" x 12.50 and my own additions
 94 xj (wifes) 3.5" lift and the boys 1979 cj7

Death Wobble

• Angie Zinn - Wall St. Warrior
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2013, 11:36:19 am »