Author Topic: flywheel ring gear...loose!  (Read 10390 times)

jeeperwannabe

• View Profile
flywheel ring gear...loose!
« on: February 27, 2008, 10:42:36 pm »
so i am ready to instal a brand new flywheel on the AMC 360 crank...i line up the holes and start threading in the bolts. i realize i forgot to slip the spacer in so i remove the bolts and go to pull the flywheel off the crank.... and the damn starter ring gear come loose! i took the flywheel off to look at it and  the gear easily pulled right off!

now, i am new to some of this, but i have never come across this deal.
is there something i don't know?
what do i do? how does the thing stay together?
i see the old flexplate (use to be auto) the gear is welded to the plate...

whats going on?
help please!

Rick_Bear

• Jeep Show Chairman
    • View Profile
Re: flywheel ring gear...loose!
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2008, 12:03:03 am »
Well, I think when you placed the flywheel on without the spacer you seperated the starter ring gear by NOT having it lined up correctly.
Ooooops !!!
[/b][/size]
I could be wrong, but that gear on the starter is held in place just buy .....what the hell do you call it....? The shaft is crimped on either side of it I think. By drawing the flywheel in you forced it beyond it's proper point. Might need a new starter if it can't be fixed.

Someone with more knowledge chime in here and help this wannabe out !
Do Your Duty And History Will Do You Justice...!
06' Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited, Clayton 4" Long Arm Suspension, Clayton Full Skid Plates, AtoZ Fabrication Rock Sliders, AtoZ Fabrication Cage Addition and More modifications to come...

cjbroke

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2008, 08:23:45 am »
Mmmmmm...odd. I agree with Rick. IIRC the ring gear is held on by, well it's a press fit kinda thing.  I think once it's off, you might be screwed. I'm not sure you can just put it back on.  I think welding it on may cause imbalance or warping.
 Go down to your local shop and ask.